

KING OF SPAIN REGATTA

District 5 Blue Star Championship Saturday and Sunday, July 12-13, 2014 Marina del Rey, California USA



AMENDED NOTICE OF RACE – July 9,2014

GENERAL INFORMATION

California Yacht Club, 4469 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292 | Phone: 310.823.4567 | Web: www.calyachtclub.com

Regatta Chair: Sam Haythorn 310.420.2917 | Email: samhaythorn@yahoo.com

1. RULES

- 1.1 This regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in the 2013-2016 Racing Rules of Sailing.
- 1.2 Rules 63.1, A4.1 and A5 will be changed: A boat starting more than five (5) minutes after her Starting Signal will be scored DNS without a hearing.
- 1.3 Rule 63.7 will be replaced with: "If there is any conflict between a rule in the Notice of Race and one in the Sailing Instructions, the Sailing Instructions shall apply."
- 1.4 Rule 82 will not apply. Competitors must submit the standard CYC Entry Form, available at Regatta Network or CYC.
- 1.5 Appendix A2 will be changed so that each boat's series score shall be the total of all her race scores.
- 1.6 In Appendix T, the following will apply: Section A, Penalties While Racing; Section C, Expedited Hearings, rule T3 and rule T4.2 only.
- 1.7 Star Class Rule (STCR) 31.1.3 will apply for those boats competing for the District 5 Blue Star Championship.

2. ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY

- 2.1 This regatta is open to Star class boats.
- 2.2 Each boat must be entered by a member of (1) a yacht club or sailing association that is a member of US SAILING (or their own National Authority) and (2) the International Star Class Yacht Racing Association (ISCYRA).
- 2.3 Each entrant shall complete the <u>on-line registration at Regatta Network</u> and pay all fees prior to 1700 hours on Friday, July 11, 2014. Registration after that time may be accepted only with the prior approval of the Regatta Chairman.

3. FEES

The entry fee is \$40 for members of US SAILING with proof of membership, \$50 for non-members.

4. SCHEDULE

Friday, July 11	1700 hrs	Registration deadline
Saturday, July 12	1255 hrs	Warning Signal for 1st race of the day – Subsequent races to start ASAP
Sunday, July 13	1255 hrs	Warning Signal for 1st race of the day - Subsequent races to start ASAP
	After racing	Awards presentation

Five (5) races are scheduled: three (3) on Saturday and two (2) on Sunday. The Race Committee (RC) reserves the right to run one more race on Sunday if fewer than the scheduled races are completed on Saturday. The RC, at its discretion, may run fewer total races.

The Sailing Instructions will be posted at California Yacht Club - King of Spain and available at the CYC Front Desk by 1700 hours on Friday, July 11.

5. SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

E21. 11.44

VENILE

6. VENUE

The racing area will be on Santa Monica Bay approximately one (1) nautical mile northwest of the Marina del Rey breakwater.

7. THE COURSES

Courses will be primarily windward / leeward.

SCORING

One (1) race must be completed to constitute a regatta.

4700 1

9. SUPPORT BOATS

Competitors who wish to keep support boats at CYC must make prior arrangements with the CYC Dockmaster for use of the hoist, trailer storage and in-the-water berthing. Contact CYC Dockmaster Ty Olsen at ty.olsen@calyachtclub.net or at 310.823.4567.

10. PRIZES

- 10.1 The names of the winning skipper and crew will be inscribed on the King of Spain Trophy, which will remain on display at CYC.
- 10.2 Take home prizes will be awarded based on the number of entries received.

11. DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

Competitors participate in this regatta entirely at their own risk. See rule 4, Decision to Race. By participating in this regatta, each competitor agrees to release the race organizers (organizing authority, host yacht club, race committee, protest committee, sponsors, and any others acting in an official capacity for this event) from any and all liability associated with such competitor's participation in this regatta to the fullest extent permitted by law

12. FURTHER INFORMATION

Regatta Chair. For additional information please contact Regatta Chairman Sam Haythorn at samhaythorn@yahoo.com or 310.420.2917.

Hospitality. Competitors and guests are invited to use the club facilities during the regatta. Complimentary refreshments will be provided after racing both days.

Boat Storage. For information and arrangements regarding boat storage for the week preceding and immediately following the regatta contact CYC Dockmaster, Ty Olsen at tv.olsen@calyachtclub.net or at 310.823.4567.

7/10/14	Page 1 of 2	2014KofSNOR Amended
1 // 1 ()/ 1 4	1 495 1 01 7	//// //// /// /// /// /// //// //// /



King of Spain Trophy

for the International Star Class

2013 – Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel 2012 – Jim Buckingham / Austin Sperry

2011 - Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel

2010 - R Hagebols / P Chadwick

2009 - Ben Mitchell / Hal Haenel

2008 - Andy MacDonald / M Lilijedahl

2007 – Andy Horton / Brad Nichol

2006 - Fredrik Loof / Anders Ekstrom

2005 - John Dane III / Austin Sperry

2004 – Eric Doyle / Chuck Beek

2003 - Erik Lidecis / Dan Roehl

2002 - Max Treacy / Anthony Shanks

2001 - George Szabo / Austin Sperry

2000 - Vince Brun / Brian Terhaar

1999 – Vince Brun / Rodrigo Meirelles

1998 – Eric Doyle / Brian Terhaar 1997 – J.A. MacCausland / Phil Trinter

1996 - Ben Mitchell / Bill Stump

1995 - Ben Mitchell / Bill Stump

1994 - Vince Brun / Mike Dorgan

1993 - Steve Gould / Hal Haenel

1992 - Vince Brun / Brian Ledbetter

1991 - Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel

1990 - Barton Beek / Hugo Schirer

1989 - Steve Gould / Greg Siek

1988 - Jack Dollahite / Dietrich

1987 - Ben Mitchell / Bill Stump

1986 - Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel

1985 - Vince Brun / Todd Cozzens

1984 – Henry Sprague / E. Bennett

1983 – Mark Reynolds

1982 - John Driscoll

1981 - Trigve Lijestrand

1980 - Trigve Lijestrand

1979 – Bob McNiel

1978 – Bengt Hellsten

1977 - Paul Burrard

1976 - Rick Taylor / Richard Loufek (Tornado)

1975 – R. Paul Allen

1974 - Cappy Sheeley

1973 - Timmothy Taylor (Tornado)

1972 – Harry G. Melges Jr. (Soling)

1971 - Robert Mosbacher

1970 - Robert Andre (Finn)

1969 - Lowell North / Peter Barrett

1937 - Owen Churchill

1935 - Owen Churchill

1934 - Owen Churchill

1932 - Owen Churchill

1931 - Dan Merle-Smith

1930 - Lewis Luckenback

1929 - Owen Churchill