

KING OF SPAIN REGATTA

Saturday and Sunday, August 11 & 12, 2018 Marina del Rey, California USA

NOTICE OF RACE



GENERAL INFORMATION

The Organizing Authority is California Yacht Club (CYC). CYC is located at 4469 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292 | Phone: 310.823.4567 | Web: <u>www.calyachtclub.com</u>

Regatta Chair: Marylyn Hoenemeyer | See NoR 12 for contact information

The notation '[DP]' in a rule in the NoR means that the penalty for a breach of that rule may, at the discretion of the protest committee, be less than disqualification.

1. RULES

- 1.1 This regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in the *Racing Rules of Sailing* (RRS).
- 1.2 STCR 31.2.6 will be changed. All boats shall carry a VHF radio capable of receiving US channels 16, 68 and 72 for race committee communication and emergencies. The use of cellular phones is prohibited except in an emergency. [DP]
- 1.3 Assigned bow numbers may be given to each competing boat, to be affixed to the hull according to the Sailing Instructions.
- 1.4 RRS 82 will not apply.

2. ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY

- 2.1 This regatta is open to Star class boats that are in compliance with STCR 21, Eligible Boats.
- 2.2 Eligible boats may enter by completing online registration at the <u>King of Spain</u> webpage, and paying all fees prior to 1800 on Friday, August 10.
- 2.3 Late entries may be accepted with the approval of the Regatta Chair.

3. FEES

The entry fee is \$55 for entries received with all fees paid by Friday, August 3; \$65 thereafter.

4. SCHEDULE

Friday, August 3		Reduced entry fee deadline
Friday, August 10	1200 - 1900	Assigned bow numbers available at CYC Front Desk
	1800	Entry deadline
Saturday, August 11	0900 - 0930	Support Boat Registration
	0900 – 1030	Assigned bow numbers available at CYC Front Desk
	1230	First warning signal; subsequent races will start ASAP
Sunday August 12	1230	First warning signal; subsequent races will start ASAP
	After racing	Trophy presentation

Seven (7) races are scheduled: four (4) on Saturday and three (3) on Sunday. The Race Committee, at its discretion, may run fewer races.

5. SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

The Sailing Instructions will be posted online at the King of Spain webpage by Wednesday, August 8.

6. VENUE

The racing area will be on Santa Monica Bay approximately one (1) nautical mile northwest of the Marina del Rey breakwater.

7. THE COURSES

Courses will be a windward/leeward format.

8. SCORING

- 8.1 When four (4) or fewer races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores. When five (5) or more races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her worst score.
- 8.2 One (1) race must be completed to constitute a regatta.

9. HAUL-OUT RESTRICTIONS

The OA may impose haul-out restrictions.

10. SUPPORT BOATS [DP]

- 10.1 Support boats must register with the OA and prominently display an identification flag provided by the OA. Only registered support boats will be allowed in the racing area. There will be a \$50 registration fee per support boat, of which \$20 is refundable upon return of the identification flag at the conclusion of racing on Sunday. This registration fee entitles one support person to refreshments after both days of racing.
- 10.2 All support boats must carry and monitor a VHF radio.
- 10.3 Support and spectator boats shall remain in the water from the time they are launched until the completion of the regatta. These boats shall not be launched or recovered at CYC while competitors are launching or recovering their boats.
- 10.4 Competitors who wish to keep support boats at CYC must make prior arrangements with the CYC Dockmaster for use of the hoist, trailer storage and in-the-water berthing. Contact CYC Dockmaster Evan Davis at <u>evan.davis@calyachtclub.net</u> or at 310.823.4567.

11. RADIO COMMUNICATIONS

While on the water, the RC may communicate with competitors and support boats via VHF radio, including starting penalties.

12. PRIZES

- 12.1 Trophies will be awarded after racing on Sunday based on the number of entries received.
- 12.2 The names of the winning skipper and crew will be inscribed on the King of Spain Perpetual Trophy, which will remain on display at CYC.

13. DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

Competitors participate in this event entirely at their own risk. See rule 4, Decision to Race. By participating in this event, each competitor agrees to release the race organizers (organizing authority, host yacht club, race committee, protest committee, sponsors, and any others acting in an official capacity for this event) from any and all liability associated with such competitor's participation in this event to the fullest extent permitted by law.

14. FURTHER INFORMATION

Regatta Chair. For additional information please contact Marylyn Hoenemeyer at <u>2018kingofspain@gmail.com</u> or at 310.472.3577.

Hospitality. Competitors and guests are invited to use the club facilities during the regatta. Complimentary refreshments will be provided following racing each day.

Boat Launching, Berthing & Storage. Competitors are invited to use the hoists and assigned docks at CYC during the regatta. Complimentary trailer storage is available beginning on August 8 and, for those competitors entered in the Star North American Championship, continuing through August 22. Trailer storage will be at the direction of the CYC Dockmaster. For information and arrangements, contact Evan Davis at evan.davis@calyachtclub.net or at 310.823.4567.

King of Spain Trophy

for the International Star Class



2017 - Eric Doyle / Payson Infelise 2016 - Eric Doyle / Payson Infelise 2015 – Jim Buckingham / Austin Sperry 2014 – Jim Buckingham / Austin Sperry 2013 – Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel 2012 – Jim Buckingham / Austin Sperry 2011 - Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel 2010 – R Hagebols / P Chadwick 2009 - Ben Mitchell / Hal Haenel 2008 – Andy MacDonald / M Lilijedahl 2007 – Andy Horton / Brad Nichol 2006 - Fredrik Loof / Anders Ekstrom 2005 – John Dane III / Austin Sperry 2004 - Eric Doyle / Chuck Beek 2003 – Erik Lidecis / Dan Roehl 2002 – Max Treacy / Anthony Shanks 2001 – George Szabo / Austin Sperry 2000 - Vince Brun / Brian Terhaar 1999 – Vince Brun / Rodrigo Meirelles 1998 – Eric Doyle / Brian Terhaar 1997 – J.A. MacCausland / Phil Trinter 1996 – Ben Mitchell / Bill Stump 1995 – Ben Mitchell / Bill Stump 1994 – Vince Brun / Mike Dorgan 1993 – Steve Gould / Hal Haenel 1992 – Vince Brun / Brian Ledbetter 1991 – Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel 1990 – Barton Beek / Hugo Schirer

1989 - Steve Gould / Greg Siek 1988 – Jack Dollahite / Dietrich 1987 – Ben Mitchell / Bill Stump 1986 – Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel 1985 – Vince Brun / Todd Cozzens 1984 – Henry Sprague / E. Bennett 1983 – Mark Revnolds 1982 – John Driscoll 1981 – Trigve Lijestrand 1980 – Trigve Lijestrand 1979 - Bob McNiel 1978 - Bengt Hellsten 1977 – Paul Burrard 1976 – Rick Taylor / Richard Loufek (Tornado) 1975 – R. Paul Allen 1974 – Cappy Sheeley 1973 – Timmothy Taylor (Tornado) 1972 – Harry G. Melges Jr. (Soling) 1971 – Robert Mosbacher 1970 – Robert Andre (Finn) 1969 - Lowell North / Peter Barrett 1937 - Owen Churchill 1935 – Owen Churchill 1934 – Owen Churchill 1932 – Owen Churchill 1931 – Dan Merle-Smith 1930 – Lewis Luckenback 1929 - Owen Churchill