

KING OF SPAIN REGATTA

Saturday and Sunday, July 13 – 14, 2019 Marina del Rey, California USA

NOTICE OF RACE



GENERAL INFORMATION

The Organizing Authority (OA) is California Yacht Club (CYC), located at 4469 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292

Phone: 310.823.4567 | Web: www.calyachtclub.com

Regatta Chair: Marylyn Hoenemeyer | See NoR 13 for contact information

1. RULES

- 1.1 This regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in the *Racing Rules of Sailing* (RRS).
- 1.2 US Sailing Prescription, RRS 82 will not apply.

2. ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY

- 2.1 This regatta is open to Star class boats that are in compliance with STCR 21, Eligible Boats.
- 2.2 Eligible boats may enter by completing online registration at the <u>King of Spain</u> webpage, and paying all fees prior to 1800 on Friday, July 12. Entries submitted after that time may be accepted only with the approval of the Regatta Chair and will be charged a \$10 late fee.

3. FEES

The entry fee is \$55 for entries received with all fees paid by Friday, July 5; \$65 thereafter, until the entry deadline.

4. SCHEDULE

Friday, July 5		Discounted entry fee deadline
Friday, July 12	1800	Entry deadline
Saturday, July 13	1230	First warning signal; subsequent races will start ASAP
Sunday, July 14	1230	First warning signal; subsequent races will start ASAP
	After racing	Trophy presentation

Seven (7) races are scheduled: four (4) on Saturday and three (3) on Sunday. The Race Committee (RC), at its discretion, may run fewer races.

5. SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

The Sailing Instructions will be posted at the King of Spain webpage by Wednesday, July 10.

6. VENUE

The racing area will be on Santa Monica Bay approximately one (1) nautical mile northwest of the Marina del Rey breakwater.

7. THE COURSES

Courses will be a windward / leeward format.

8. SCORING

- 8.1 When four (4) or fewer races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores. When five (5) or more races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her worst score.
- 8.2 One (1) race must be completed to constitute a regatta.

9. SUPPORT BOATS [DP]

Competitors who wish to keep support boats at CYC must make prior arrangements with the CYC Dockmaster for use of the hoist, trailer storage and in-the-water berthing. See NoR 13 for Dockmaster contact information.

10. RADIO COMMUNICATIONS

While on the water, the RC may communicate with competitors and support boats via VHF radio channel 68, including starting penalties.

11. PRIZES

- 11.1 Trophies will be awarded after racing on Sunday based on the number of entries received.
- 11.2 The names of the winning skipper and crew will be inscribed on the King of Spain Perpetual Trophy, which will remain on display at CYC.

12. DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

Competitors participate in this event entirely at their own risk. See rule 4, Decision to Race. By participating in this event, each competitor agrees to release the race organizers (organizing authority, host yacht club, race committee, protest committee, sponsors, and any others acting in an official capacity for this event) from any and all liability associated with such competitor's participation in this event to the fullest extent permitted by law.

13. FURTHER INFORMATION

Regatta Chair: Marylyn Hoenemeyer at hoenemeyer@roadrunner.com or 310.617.3870.

Hospitality: Competitors and guests are invited to use the club facilities during the regatta. Complimentary refreshments will be provided following racing each day.

Boat Launching, Berthing & Storage: Competitors are invited to use the hoists and assigned docks at CYC during the regatta. For information and arrangements regarding boat storage immediately preceding and following the regatta, contact Evan Davis at evan.davis@calyachtclub.net or at 310.823.4567.

King of Spain Trophy for the International Star Class



2018 – Eric Doyle / Payson Infelise 2017 – Eric Doyle / Payson Infelise 2016 – Eric Doyle / Payson Infelise 2015 – Jim Buckingham / Austin Sperry 2014 – Jim Buckingham / Austin Sperry 2013 – Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel 2012 – Jim Buckingham / Austin Sperry 2011 – Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel 2010 – R Hagebols / P Chadwick 2009 – Ben Mitchell / Hal Haenel 2008 – Andy MacDonald / M Lilijedahl 2007 – Andy Horton / Brad Nichol 2006 – Fredrik Loof / Anders Ekstrom 2005 – John Dane III / Austin Sperry 2004 – Eric Doyle / Chuck Beek 2003 – Erik Lidecis / Dan Roehl 2002 – Max Treacy / Anthony Shanks 2001 – George Szabo / Austin Sperry 2000 – Vince Brun / Brian Terhaar 1999 – Vince Brun / Rodrigo Meirelles 1998 – Eric Doyle / Brian Terhaar 1997 – J.A. MacCausland / Phil Trinter 1996 – Ben Mitchell / Bill Stump 1995 – Ben Mitchell / Bill Stump 1994 – Vince Brun / Mike Dorgan 1993 – Steve Gould / Hal Haenel 1992 – Vince Brun / Brian Ledbetter 1991 – Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel 1990 – Barton Beek / Hugo Schirer	1989 - Steve Gould / Greg Siek 1988 - Jack Dollahite / Dietrich 1987 - Ben Mitchell / Bill Stump 1986 - Mark Reynolds / Hal Haenel 1985 - Vince Brun / Todd Cozzens 1984 - Henry Sprague / E. Bennett 1983 - Mark Reynolds 1982 - John Driscoll 1981 - Trigve Lijestrand 1980 - Trigve Lijestrand 1979 - Bob McNiel 1978 - Bengt Hellsten 1977 - Paul Burrard 1976 - Rick Taylor / Richard Loufek (Tornado) 1975 - R. Paul Allen 1974 - Cappy Sheeley 1973 - Timmothy Taylor (Tornado) 1972 - Harry G. Melges Jr. (Soling) 1971 - Robert Mosbacher 1970 - Robert Andre (Finn) 1969 - Lowell North / Peter Barrett 1937 - Owen Churchill 1933 - Owen Churchill 1934 - Owen Churchill 1932 - Owen Churchill 1931 - Dan Merle-Smith 1930 - Lewis Luckenback 1929 - Owen Churchill

2019KofSNOR_Final.2 5/6/2019